Skip to content

Teaching in Slippers & Riddles

October 17, 2009

One of the wonderful perks of working in an International School in Asia is being able (read: forced) to wear slippers whenever indoors. Here’s a picture of one of my favorite pairs of slippers.

Teaching in Slippers

Teaching in Slippers

I love these slippers for their elfin quality, as well as for the rocking camels stitched on the outside.

Speaking of which, did I mention there are a ton of camels here? It’s kind of surreal seeing them around Aktau… Here is my favorite camel pic so far:

Camel Herding

Camel Herding

No, the driver is not trying to run over the camel, as funny of an idea as that is (sorry PETA!). He’s herding this big dummy who got lost trying to find the watering hole about 30 meters to the left. The Kazakhs used to be nomads, and the horse their transport of choice. Now, it seems, they’ve upgraded to something with a bit more horsepower.Har har har…

To switch gears a bit, I wrote this poem a few weeks ago here in Aktau. It’s a little crazy, but it hits on some of the struggles I’ve had since coming here. The poem is a stream-of-consciousness and rambles a bit, kind of like my thoughts&conversations. πŸ™‚

I like the long&short lines & lack of punctuation because it develops its own rhythm based on breath. I’m trying some Ginsbergian methods here, but its still missing something…

Anyway, here it is. I may update it later. Hope you enjoy!

Riddle Based on Something Joel Told Me


Sow a deed

Into the jungle the hunter tracks a beast a green beat poet like Ginsberg. Like the fearful Jesuit Kinch. Come up come up come up. The mind is a terrible thing its a terrible thing after all.

Reap a habit

drawing near to the sycamore tree, do you care about the light from the blood-bank parking lot, and the plastic surgeon’s office next door? In a scattered world light always seems to come from lampposts.

Sow a habit

He passed the beast he got a car and drove real fast, outside the home the railroad tracks are misleading, are are are. I have a mind a mind I say a Mind.

Reap a character

Hell is seeing myself in other people. Hell is not other people. Hell is.

Sow a character

This is the hunter’s last reply to the fading beast on the horizon, shouting: β€œI want you back&I want you back&I want you back&” to him the voice sounds kinda strained like this won’t last forever, you know.

Reap two minds

When a minister will not rise to speak to his congregation, even if he has a burning heart, but stays seated, waiting for the presence of God

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Oliver permalink
    October 18, 2009 3:33 am

    Hey Nick! Happy to hear an update about your adventures.

    A few weeks back, I was having dinner with a Kazakh friend of mine, and she brought up the subject of camels. She started going on about how they’re treacherous and can bite off the top your skull, kick you to death, and many things like that. We were very tired at that point from having conference all weekend, so I don’t know how serious she was, making that comment–but keep an eye out! πŸ˜‰

    • October 29, 2009 4:48 pm

      Hey Oliver! Haha- yeah, I was a little nervous getting so close. You can tell by the picture that I’m at a nice safe distance. I don’t trust anything that spits… πŸ˜›

  2. November 2, 2009 10:22 pm

    Hahaha wow.. love the slippers!

Leave a Reply

